| 0 comments ]

Via Boyculture. Click thumbnails to see full size pictures.

| 0 comments ]


Katie Couric interviews Joe Wurzelbacher, the real "Joe The Plumber" after last night's debate.

| 0 comments ]



The winner and my take on last night's episode after the jump!


Leanne wins Project Runway! I'm so excited! And I'm using so many exclamation points because when Leanne was announced the winner I'm nearly certain Michael Kors (!) and Nina Garcia (!) yawned and waved to Leanne (!) and murmured, "Congrats, Leanne, you really deserved it. See you around. Or something." That was their celebration. That's it. Leanne deserves more enthusiasm than that!

I mean, last season Heidi gave Christian a piggyback ride. On the Project Runway runway. Last night, Heidi skeptically touched Leanne's unwashed hair and kissed her on just one cheek! I'm sure Leanne did celebrate (I think!) in her own awkward way, and she really did deserve the win. (Entertainment Weekly has a great look back at PR's top all-time designers and their best looks.)

I feel bad for Korto, but, like Uli from a few seasons ago, her clothes were just a little bit more about wearability than they were about fashion. Leanne does things with clothes that help to create the idea of Fashion. And that's why she won.

Poor Kenley. I don't think she lost because she ripped off other designers. I think she lost because she ripped off other designers the entire season! I mean, Christian took a hit after last season's seasons finale because a few of his dresses were a little too inspired by other designers. But that was the only time the judges called him out on that, and he still won. Kenley even said, "The judges have called me out on that four times this season! I'm insulted!" Well, then, stop copying other designers.

Kenley reminds me of the girl who uses a dictionary to cheat on a spelling test and then gets mad when the teacher points out that she cheated by using a dictionary. Spell on your own, Kenley! Once she admits that there are people who know more than she does, she'll be fine.

In any event, congratulations Leanne!


| 0 comments ]

No matter who wins the election, we will have a left-handed President. Watching the debate last night, it finally hit me that we'd have a left-hander no matter what, which is great by left-handed me.

I did some poking around, and I learned that not since the three-way left-handed race between George H.W. Bush, Bill Clinton and H. Ross Perot has the country been guaranteed a left-handed leader. Did you know Al Gore was left-handed, too? Maybe we should vote like this: Vote for the left-handed candidate unless he is Republican. If we were to vote like that, we'd get Clinton, Gore, and Obama.

Other left-handed Presidents: James Garfield, Harry Truman and Gerald Ford. And possibly Herbert Hoover.

| 0 comments ]


Click below to jump to the player, or click here to launch it in a new window, or just hang out and listen from The Media Bar.

Tell Me More:
Stories: 1) Small Biz Owners Weigh In On Economic Crisis 2) Ga. Inmate's Death Sentence Questions Justice 3) 'Legends en Espanol' Depicts Latino Icons 4) Latino Literary Contributions

Fresh Air Stories:
1) Sarah Palin, A View From Anchorage 2) For Candidates, An Accent on Authenticity

The New York Times:
Thursday's Front Page, Summarized
Thursday's Tech and Gadget Page





| 0 comments ]

Click below to jump the the full size players, or click here to launch them in a new window, or just hang out and watch them in The Media Bar.

Daily Song
Mariah Carey
"I'll Be Lovin U"
(Designer Drug Remix)

Television
The Simpson's Tree House of Horror Preview (2:29)
via I Am A TV Junkie

Politics
Margaret Cho: "No on 8, not Yes"
via HOMOTracker

Movies
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (1:41)
I didn't even know this was coming up. It's looks kinda scary.

Music Video
Thom Skinner "We Don't Talk"



Daily Song



The Simpson's Tree House of Horror Preview (2:29) via iamatvjunkie


Movies
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (1:41)
I didn't even know this was coming up. It's looks kinda scary.


Politics
Margaret Cho and via HOMOTracker


Music Video
Thom Skinner "We Don't Talk"



| 1 comments ]

Pink News is reporting that six people were arrested on the Florida University campus:

Members of a gay rights "Equality Ride" protest were arrested yesterday as they attempted to enter a university campus chapel.Six members of LGBT equality group Soulforce Q, were arrested on trespassing charges at Palm Beach Atlantic University (PBAU). PBAU does not exclude gay students from its 3,200 population, but does ban "homosexual behaviour" amongst its members.

| 0 comments ]



How great was it last night when Campbell Brown released poll information that said two-thirds of those polled do not want another debate? Campbell could barely contain her laughter. Even "Joe Plumber" nodded off during a debate that the New York Post called, uh, "blistering."

After a debate last night that Paul Begala said "dragged on" (before he quickly backtracked and said, "Went on, went on"), it's pretty clear that, unless there is an "October surprise," Obama will be President. Sure, Obama is "professorial." But the one word that came to mind last night as I watched McCain be non-professorial was "coot." I think "the professor" beats the "the maverick." Regardless of "The Bradley Effect."

One of my favorite CNN analysts, Donna Brazile, has written a an article for CNN.com. She writes:
After two years of talking about the 2008 presidential campaign ad nauseam, I still get one question repeatedly: Is America ready yet? My firm answer after being on the road nonstop and witnessing the crowds of ordinary people standing together for a cause greater than themselves is that the country is poised to write a new American chapter.
I'm going to quote her, too.