Showing posts with label Project Runway. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Project Runway. Show all posts
| 0 comments ]

Yes, I know Project Runway is over, but if you're looking for the last little bit of PR juice, the boys over at Project Rungay have reviews of the Final Three's Final Collections.

"We honestly assumed that Korto was going to win based on the editing of the last episode and we're going to admit that we would have been a little upset if she had. We think her collection was beautiful and dramatic but we also felt it suffered from some problems that in our opinion disqualified her from the win. We felt it was second place, but a very close second place." Check out Korto's full review: Part 1 and Part 2.



Here is Part 1 of Leanne's. Plus, Project Rungay interviews Leanne. "We got a chance to do a phone interview with the warm and funny Leanne Marshall the other day. The funny thing was she was having some trouble with her phone and stepped outside to get better reception, which resulted in her yelling 'Thank you!' every couple of minutes to passersby offering their congrats." Check out the interview here.

| 0 comments ]


Jay Leno embarrasses Zac Efron.

TV networks off so slow start

Andy Roddick auctions off nude tennis lesson

Jon Wertheim's weekly Tennis Mailbag

Olympic gymnastics gold medalist Nastia Liukin to appear on Gossip Girl

Interview with Project Runway's Jerell Scott

Google crushes the iPhone?

Lost's JJ Abrams talks about his version of Star Trek."I think a movie that shows people of various races working together and surviving hundreds of years from now is not a bad message to put out right now."

Ellen DeGeneres tees it up Wednesday in Las Vegas adJustin Timberlake's charity golf event

Angelina Jolie on The Today Show

| 0 comments ]



The winner and my take on last night's episode after the jump!


Leanne wins Project Runway! I'm so excited! And I'm using so many exclamation points because when Leanne was announced the winner I'm nearly certain Michael Kors (!) and Nina Garcia (!) yawned and waved to Leanne (!) and murmured, "Congrats, Leanne, you really deserved it. See you around. Or something." That was their celebration. That's it. Leanne deserves more enthusiasm than that!

I mean, last season Heidi gave Christian a piggyback ride. On the Project Runway runway. Last night, Heidi skeptically touched Leanne's unwashed hair and kissed her on just one cheek! I'm sure Leanne did celebrate (I think!) in her own awkward way, and she really did deserve the win. (Entertainment Weekly has a great look back at PR's top all-time designers and their best looks.)

I feel bad for Korto, but, like Uli from a few seasons ago, her clothes were just a little bit more about wearability than they were about fashion. Leanne does things with clothes that help to create the idea of Fashion. And that's why she won.

Poor Kenley. I don't think she lost because she ripped off other designers. I think she lost because she ripped off other designers the entire season! I mean, Christian took a hit after last season's seasons finale because a few of his dresses were a little too inspired by other designers. But that was the only time the judges called him out on that, and he still won. Kenley even said, "The judges have called me out on that four times this season! I'm insulted!" Well, then, stop copying other designers.

Kenley reminds me of the girl who uses a dictionary to cheat on a spelling test and then gets mad when the teacher points out that she cheated by using a dictionary. Spell on your own, Kenley! Once she admits that there are people who know more than she does, she'll be fine.

In any event, congratulations Leanne!


| 0 comments ]


It may or may not be the end of Project Runway on Bravo -- Could you imagine watching it on Lifetime? Not me. But tonight is the end of Season 5 of Project Runway. The talent pool was a little shallower than it was in Season 4. (Tim Gunn recently said that Christian Siriano was one of the true fashion rarities), but I think Leanne, in her own hyper-focused way, comes closer to approaching Siriano's talent level than any other designer across all of the seasons. Leanne's cerebral designs manifest natural forms enveloping an artificial scaffolding. She is 180 degrees from Siriano, but, if she were to continue along the circle and move to 270 degrees or more, it's easy to imagine her work taking on the scale and theatrics of Siriano's work.

I also loved Korto. That jacket she made out of seat belts? That might be one of my favorite looks ever on Project Runway. (Speaking of, I've been watching The Rachel Zoe show, and I almost love it. More on her later.)

The boys over at Project Rungay, in their seasonal breakdown of all of the Final Three's looks, give a dead-on review of Leanne's, Korto's, and Kenley's entire output.

Oh, and here is an audio clip of Leanne talking about her time on Project Runway and her big move to NYC.



My pick to win? Leanne.

| 0 comments ]

The boys over at Project Rungay break down last night's show.

I swear, it's like, for every episode, the judges make up a new way to play the game.

Spoiler and exit interview after the jump. Also, video of Kenley's call-in to Andy Cohen's show. She fields questions by Andy and Daniel V. Also after the jump.






Jerell is out. I liked Jerell a lot. He's a little weird, a little whimsical, a little out there, very cute, and a lot hung.